WSL Championship Tour 2019

Alvaro Pastor's picture
Alvaro Pastor
07 · 19 · 2019

As every year since 2015, the WSL Championship Tour, which is the world surfing championship, will begin the 3rd of April in Australia.

For the surfing community around the world is the most important competition, in which both the prize and the recognition are the maximum. Thousands of athletes compete to enter this championship, of which finally only one winner remains.

The World Surf League, is the brand that brings together the most desired events or competitions; in which the best surfers of the world surf the best waves in both female and male category. Within it, the Championship Tour is the crown jewel.

But formerly the competition did not work like that. To know the first steps of the WSL as an organization, you have to travel in time until 1976 when the Hawaiian surfers Randy Rarick and Fred Hemmings organized a set of different professional surfing events around the world.

Credits to Respective Image Owner: Oliver Sjöström, Instagram: @ollivves, Website:

This was the first surfing world championship, developing an international classification system and encouraging the best surfers in the world to participate. The organization, International Professional Surfers (IPS) becomes the original governing body of the professional surf worldwide.

In 1983, the original concept of IPS was transformed into the Association of Professional Surfers (ASP) which, in the mid-1990s, changed the competition focus towards the concept of the "Dream Tour".

This concept looked for the organizers of the events to make the transition of their competitions from the metropolitan areas to more remote places but with a higher quality surf.

So here we discover the philosophy of the company: "the best surfers in the world, the best waves in the world", which today remains guiding the principles of the organization we know as WSL. In the Championship Tour, the best 32 men in the world and the 16 best women compete, and they are classified by an elaborate scoring method in which there is a cutting line of enormous demand.

WSL Championship Tour 2019 Calendar

This year the events will begin from April 3rd to the 13th at the Quiksilver Pro Gold Coast, at Snapper Rocks, Australia, the base of professional surfing and the cradle of more world champions than any other place on the planet. Julian Wilson (AU) and Lakey Peterson (USA) have to defend their crowns in the best of the scenarios to start the competition.

From the 17th to the 27th of April it is the turn of the Rip Curl Pro Bells Beach, also in Australia, in the most famous place of the rugged South Coast. The wave itself is a canvas where surfers have been recording their distinctive movements in the hearts and minds of surfers for decades. Italo Ferreira (BR) and Stephanie Gilmore (AU) will have to defend their respective triumphs.

In the Bali Pro, which will be held in Keramas, Indonesia, from May 13th to 25th it will be Italo Ferreira and Lakey Peterson who will try to regain the first position.

The Margaret River Pro, located in Western Australia, takes place from May 29th to June 9th. Willian Cardoso (BR) and Johanne Defay (FR) will be the rivals to beat this year.

Oi Rio Pro will take place in Saquarema, Rio de Janeiro from June 20th to 28th. Filipe Toledo (BR) and Stephanie Gilmore are the two defending champions.

In the J-Bay Open from 9th to 22th July the previous surfers also proclaimed themselves champions so they will be the kings of the hill in principle. The event will be held in South Africa, at Jeffreys Bay.

The Tahiti Pro Teahupo'o, is perhaps the most famous wave in the world, and will host the competition from August 21st to September 1st. In this case only for the male category, the opponent to beat is Gabriel Medina (BR).

One of the cradles of surfing, such as California, will host the Surf Ranch Pro in Lemoore from September 19th to 22nd. Gabriel Medina was the winner in the last edition while Carissa Moore was the first Hawaiian in a decade to take the win.

Quiksilver and Roxy sponsor the Pro France from October 3rd to 13th in Landes, France, where Julian Wilson and Courtney Conlogue will defend their last year triumphs.

Peniche is one of the spots with the best waves in the world and this year hosts the MEO Rip Curl Pro Portugal from October 1th6 to 28th. Again Italo Ferreira and Carissa Moore were the winners of the event.

Only for  women's category will be contested from November 25th to December 6th, the Hawaii Womens Pro, in Honolua Bay, Maui. The local Carissa Moore was the one who achieved the maximum score last year.

The last appointment of the year for the men's Championship is the Billabong Pipe Masters from December 8th to 20th, in Oahu, Hawaii where Gabriel Medina defends his trophy.

Thanks to leagues and competitions like the promoted by the WSL, the true acceptance of surfing as a professional sport has been achieved. This has seen its greatest exponent in its inclusion as an Olympic sport for the Tokyo 2020 Games.


Featured Surf camps